The kiwi page header
Endangered species of New Zealand

The kiwi

Of the kiwi chicks that survive to hatch 65% are killed by stoats and a further 30% of the kiwi chicks are killed by other predators including ferrets.

Birds of New Zealand


It was thought until 1995 that New Zealand had three species of kiwi: the great spotted kiwi, little spotted kiwi, and the brown kiwi. It is now established that we also have the rowi kiwi, Haast tokoeka kiwi, Northern Fiordland tokoeka kiwi, Southern Fiordland tokoeka kiwi and the Stewart Island tokoeka kiwi. This discovery will present new challenges to establish the kiwi numbers, monitor populations, and protect them.

The kiwi is the only bird to have nostrils at the end of its beak which it uses to find food detected by smell alone. This is unusual for a bird. Also unusual for a bird is that the kiwi's leg bones are full of marrow. Most bird's legs are filled with hollow honeycomb segments to minimise weight for flight.

  The kiwi birds egg


Above and below © Dr Paddy Ryan
The kiwi twin chicksThe kiwi's beak
The kiwi chicks © Chris McLennan
The  kiwi baby
The kiwi chick © Chris McLennan
The kiwi chick 3
Kiwi chick © nhc
The kiwi page footer